Annual General Meeting

Our 2019 AGM took place on Wednesday 23rd October at 5.30pm at the DVH. Clyde Young reported on another very successful year for the Village Players and Peter Williams presented details of our healthy financial position. Full minutes of the meeting can be seen by clicking on the link below.


A new Constitution was formally adopted after the Village Players had successfully been granted CIO ( Charitable Incorporated Organisation ) status by the Charity Commission.The Consitution, which  is based on Charity Commission model rules, was approved by  those present. The final version of the Constitution  is available by clicking on the link below.


Under our constitution each Officer must either stand down or seek re-election having completed a two-year period so both our Chairman, Clyde Young, and Treasurer, Peter Williams, had to stand down. Ann Walker was elected as Chairman at the meeting  with Clyde Young becoming Treasurer. Peter Williams agreed to remain as a committee member and our Membership Secretary, Jane Uren, and Secretary, Lizzie Hutcheson, were also re-elected for a further two-year period.

The new Committee is as follows: –

Officers & Trustees               

Chairman                                 Ann Walker

Secretary                                 Lizzie Hutcheson

Membership Secretary             Jane Uren

Treasurer                                 Clyde Young

Trustees & Committee Members

Anita Gunn, Pam Edmonds, Maria Hadlow, Peter Williams.

Committee Members

Heather Young, Clive Uren.

Angie Trew Award 

The 2018/19 Angie Trew Award for the Most Deserving Actor ( or Character) from our productions of ”Relative Values” and ”The Happiest Days of Your Lifewas presented, at the AGM, to Clyde Young for his performances as Crestwell, the Butler and Godfrey Pond, the Headmaster in these two productions.

Previous winners of the Most Deserving Actor Award were:

Debbie Meeks 2010

Stephanie Cogdell 2011

Clyde Young 2012

Stephanie Cogdell 2013

Maria Hadlow 2014

Richard Evans-Thomas 2015

Clementine Wells and Rosie Page 2016

Lizzie Hutcheson and Jim Edmonds 2017

Kate Rolff 2018

The Award to person who made the Greatest Input to Productions ,as nominated by the Committee, was presented to Jane Leney, who lead on props for both productions.

Previous Award winners were:

Jean Bates 2010

Jonathan Austin 2011

Yvonne Mitchell 2012

John Gunn 2013

Goff Bowles 2014

Andrew Nairne 2015

Ian Charlesworth 2016

Jonathan Austin 2017

Johnny Bates 2018

An additional award for the Most Promising Newcomer  was presented in  2017 to Zak Nicholls in recognition of his impressive acting and all round contribution to ”A Woman of No Importance” .



Subscriptions for 2023 are now due so please complete the form which can be downloaded from our ‘Contacts page’ and send it with your remittance to our Membership secretary Jane Uren. Please note that annual subscriptions run from 1st January to 31st December each year.

Advantages of membership include:

  • Preferential booking
  • No booking fee if tickets bought during the preferential period.

Your membership must be paid up-to-date to buy advance tickets for any performances. Tickets sell out fast so if you want to book on a table with friends make sure you have renewed your membership before you come to book your tickets at the DVH.

Now that the Village Players is a CIO we are able to claim gift aid on subscriptions. If you would like the Village Players to benefit from this scheme please download and complete the Gift Aid Declaration by clicking on the link on the Membership page of the website.



Get Involved!

We are always looking for enthusiastic people who would like to be involved with The Village Players. If you fancy ‘treading the boards’, helping backstage or front of house then please contact Anita Gunn on 01435 873226.